“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. Unless specified, all other materials are from the private collection of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Tuesday, August 31, 2010


An unheralded and obscure movie, Patrolman was named Best Picture in the 1988 Metro Manila Film Festival. The lead star, unknown stuntman-actor Baldo Marro won the Best Actor award for his role as a dedicated policeman edging out the favored Christopher de Leon. Amy Austria won the Best Actress award for her convincing performance of a woman who led a life of crime in Bubbles: Ativan Gang. Other awardees are: Best Director (Laurice Guillen/ Magkano ang Iyong Dangal?); Best Supporting Actor (Dick Israel/ Patrolman); Best Supporting Actress (Jacklyn Jose/ Itanong Mo sa Buwan); Best Child Performer (R.R. Herrera/ Agila ng Maynila); Best Cinematography (Romeo Vitug); Best Screenplay (Carlo J. Caparas and Tony Mortel/ Bubbles:Ativan Gang); Best Story (Carlo J. Caparas and Tony Mortel/ Bubbles:Ativan Gang); Best Production Design (Manny Morfe/ Pik Pak Boom); Best Sound (Itanong Mo sa Buwan); Best Editing (Magkano ang Iyong Dangal?) Best Musical Score (Magkano ang Iyong Dangal?).

FPJ Productions'
Agila ng Maynila was the festival's top grosser. Only six entries participated in the 10-day film festival.

Philippines Daily Inquirer/ December 28, 1988
click image to enlarge

"Patrolman" (1988)- Stars Baldo Marro, Melissa Mendez, Sunshine, Raoul Aragonn, Dick Israel, Zandro Zamora, Odette Khan/ Directed by Cesar Abella

"Celestina Sanchez, Alyas Bubbles/ Enforcer: Ativan Gang" (1988)- Stars Amy Austria, Miguel Rodriguez, Jacklyn Jose, Isadora, Lola Rodriguez, Gina pareno/ Directed by Carlo J. Caparas

"Agila ng Maynila" (1988)- Stars Fernando Poe, Jr., Vic Vargas, Encar Benedicto, Paquito Diaz, Raoul Aragonn, Dencio Padilla, Vic Diaz, Charlie Davao, Lito Anzures, Lucita Soriano, Mario Escudero, Nello Nayo and Max Alvarado/ Directed by Pablo Santiago

"Itanong Mo sa Buwan" (1988)- Stars Mark Gil, Anjo Yllana and Jacklyn Jose/ Directed by Chito Rono

"Magkano ang Iyong Dangal?" (1988)- Stars Christopher de Leon, Zsa Zsa Padilla, Joel Torre, Jestoni Alarcon, Princess Punzalan, Michael Locsin/ Directed by Laurice Guillen

"Pik Pak Boom" (1988)- Stars Lea Salonga, Bing Loyzaga, Regine Velasquez, Lilet, Dingdong Avanzado, Richard Reynoso, Jayjay Salvador, Cathy Moira and Herbert Bautista/ Directed by Leroy Salvador

No comments:


Blog Widget by LinkWithin