“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. Unless specified, all other materials are from the private collection of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Wednesday, June 19, 2013


June 18--- The best films of 2012 were honored at the 36th Gawad Urian Awards held at NBC Tent in Taguig City.

MANILA, Philippines—True to its tradition of awarding maverick indie productions, “Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim” by Davao-based director-screenwriter Arnel Mardoquio was awarded “Best Film” in the 36th Gawad Urian Awards held Tuesday night at the NBC Tent in Taguig City.
Mardoquio though failed to bring home the best director trophy.

Much-awarded indie director Adolfo Alix Jr. was awarded best director for his work, “Mater Dolorosa.”
“This is for my Mom who always supported me and allowed me to nurture my love for cinema,” said Alix in his recent status on Facebook.

Nora Aunor, as expected, won the best actress trophy for Brillante Mendoza’s “Thy Womb.” Mendoza on the other hand won best production design for the same film.

The best actor went to Jericho Rosales for his work in “Alagwa,” a film by writer-director Ian Lorenons on human trafficking.

Best Documentary award, to the delight of many, went to the enigmatic “Harana” by Benito Bautista. “Harana” tackles the nearly lost Filipino tradition of serenading ones’ love at night.
Gawad Urian is given by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP), a group of film critics and academicians.

Its active members for the past couple of years are Rolando B. Tolentino, Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario A. Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Q. Rapatan, Benilda S. Santos, Dr. Nicanor G. Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente and Lito B. Zulueta.

The awarding was hosted by Richard Gomez, Xian Lim, Cherie Gil, Butch Francisco and Iza Calzado.

The complete list of this year’s winners:

Natatanging Gawad Urian: Mila del Sol
Best Picture:  “Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim”
Best Actress: Nora Aunor for “Thy Womb”
Best Actor: Jericho Rosales for “Alagwa”
Best Director: Adolf Alix, Jr. “Mater Dolorosa”
Best Supporting Actress: Alessandra de Rossi for “Sta Nina”
Best Supporting Actor: Art Acuna for “Posas”
Best Documentary:  “Harana” by Benito Bautista
Best Short Film: “Ritmo” by Remton Siega Zuasola
Best Sound: Willy Fernandez, Bong Sungcang, Ferdinand Marcos Sabarongis for Lav Diaz’s “Florentina Hubaldo”
Best Music: Diwa de Leon, “Baybayin”
Best Editing: Aleks Castaneda, “Kalayaan”
Best Production Design: Brillante Mendoza, “Thy Womb”
Best Cinematography: Whammy Alcazaren for “Colossal”
Best Screenplay: Mes de Guzman for “Diablo”

by Totel V. de Jesus, Inquirer.net

No comments:


Blog Widget by LinkWithin