“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. Unless specified, all other materials are from the private collection of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Wednesday, February 6, 2013


In 1950, the defunct Manila Times Publishing Co. established the Maria Clara Awards, an institution patterned after the annual Oscar Awards of the American Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) of Hollywood. The primary purpose of the Maria Clara Awards was to encourage the production of quality movies in the Philippines and to spur local movie personalities to greater achievements.

In the very first Maria Clara Awards, several producers, pictures, directors, actors, actresses and technicians vied with each other to win the bronze Maria Clara statuette by Guillermo E. Tolentino, the country's top sculptor.

A board of judges, composed of well-known writers, film critics, playwrights and musical composers chose winners that year. 

First Winners:
The winners of the first Maria Clara Awards were: Narcisa Buencamino Vda. de Leon, producer of the year; Premiere's KAMAY NI SATANAS, best picture; Nena Cardenas, best actress for her performance in DOBLE CARA, a Premiere's film; Reynaldo Dante, best actor for his performance in KAMAY NI SATANAS;

Tony Santos, best supporting actor, for LVN's HANTIK; Alicia Vergel, best supporting actress for Sampaguita's MAPUPUTING KAMAY; Premiere's Gerardo de Leon, best director for KAMAY NI SATANAS; Lebran's Julio Esteban Anguita, best musical director, for THE SPELL;

Sampaguita's Higino Fallorina, best cinematographer, for BAGUIO CADETS; Lebran's Charles Gray, best sound recording; and Royal Production's Mila Nimfa, best child star, for NANAY KO.

Source: "History of RP Movies"

by Joe Quirino
published in The Times Journal, June 26, 1974

Excerpts from "Awards, Deserved and Otherwise"
by Joe Quirino

Via: Pelikula ATBP

"Kamay ni Satanas" (1950)
Premiere Productions
Music Tito Arevalo
Direction Gerardo de Leon
Cast Leila Morena, Reynaldo Dante, Nena Cardenas, Fred Santos, Patria Plata, Oscar Keese, Conrado Conde, Arturo Lerma, Rino Bermudez, Tony Tolman, Vicente Liwanag, Agapito Santiago


Producer of the Year - Narcisa Buencamino vda. de Leon (LVN Pictures)
Best Picture - Kamay Ni Satanas (Premiere Productions)
Best Actress - Nena Cardenas (Doble Cara) (Premiere Productions)
Best Actor - Reynaldo Dante (Kamay Ni Satanas) (Premiere Productions)
Best Supporting Actress - Alicia Vergel (Mapuputing Kamay) (Sampaguita Pictures, Inc.)
Best Supporting Actor - Tony Santos (Hantik) (LVN Pictures)
Best Director - Gerardo de Leon (Kamay Ni Satanas) (Premiere Productions)
Best Musical Score - Julio Esteban Anguita (The Spell) (Lebran Productions)
Best Cinematographer - Higino Fallorina (Baguio Cadets) (Sampaguita Pictures, Inc.)
Best Sound Recording - Charles Gray
Best Child Star - Mila Nimfa (Nanay Ko) (Royal Productions)

The Judges:
Narciso Pimentel, Jr. - Chairman
Sarah K. Joaquin - Member
Alejandro R. Roces - Member
Wilfredo Guerrero - Member
Prof. Ramon Tapales – Member

"Doble Cara" (1950)
Premiere Productions
Direction Gerardo de Leon
Cast Rogelio de la Rosa, Nena Cardenas, Enrico Pimentel, Oscar Keese, Patria Plata, Amelita Sol, Conrado Conde, Eddie Infante

"Hantik" (1950)
LVN Pictures
Direction Lamberto V. Avellana
Cast Leopoldo Salcedo and Celia Flor

"Mapuputing Kamay" (1950)
Sampaguita Pictures
Direction Octavio Silos and Dr. Fausto J. Galauran
Cast Pancho Magalona, Lillian Leonardo, Alicia Vergel, Tessie Martinez, Norma Vales

No comments:


Blog Widget by LinkWithin