“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. Unless specified, all other materials are from the private collection of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Monday, October 18, 2010


It was a clean sweep for GMA Films’ Jose Rizal in the 1998 Metro Manila Film Festival. The movie won all but one of the 18 awards at stake (except for Best Actress which went to Alice Dixson for MAQ Films’ Sambahin ang Ngalan Mo)--- Best Picture, Best Actor (Cesar Montano), Best Director (Marilou Diaz-Abaya), Best Supporting Actress (Gloria Diaz), Best Supporting Actor (Jaime Fabregas), Best Original Story and Best Screenplay (Ricky Lee, Jun Lana, Peter Lim), Best Original Theme Song (Nonong Buencamino/ “Awit ni Maria Clara”), Best Musical Score (Nonong Buencamino), Best Cinematography (Rody Lacap), Best Sound Recording (Mike Idioma), Best Editor (Jess Navarro and Manet Dayrit), Best Production Design (Leo Abaya), Best Special Effects (Optima Digital), Best Makeup Artist (Dennis Tan), Best Festival Float and the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Awards.

"Jose Rizal" (1998)- Stars Cesar Montano, Gloria Diaz, Joel Torre, Jaime Fabregas, Gardo Versoza, Gina Alajar, Tanya Gomez, Ronnie Lazaro, Subas Herrero, Pen Medina, Cinchin Gutierrez, Monique Wilson, Jhong Hilario, Mickey Ferriols/ Directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya

"Sambahin ang Ngalan Mo" (1998)- Stars Eddie Garcia, Christopher de Leon, Jomari Yllana and Alice Dixson/ Directed by Jose Carreon

"Hiwaga ng Panday" (1998)- Stars Jinggoy Estrada, Kris Aquino, Robert Arevalo, Gloria Sevilla, Bernadette Allyson, Nards Belen, Benedict Aquino, Martin Gutierrez, Caloy Salvador, Bernard Fabiosa and Celso Ad Castillo/ Directed by Carlo J. Caparas

"Babae sa Bintana" (1998)- Stars Richard Gomez, Rosanna Roces, John Estrada, Johnny Manahan, Efren Reyes, Jr., Raymond Keannu/ Directed by Chito Rono

"Kasal-Kasalan Sakalan" (1997)- Stars Judy Ann Santos, Wowie de Guzman, Gladys Reyes, Christopher Roxas, Elizabeth Oropesa, Ai-Ai delas Alas, Tia Pusit, Berting Labra/ Directed by Edgardo "Boy" Vinarao

"Puso ng Pasko" (1998)- Jolina Magdangal, Jacklyn Jose, Rita Avila, Cherry Pie Picache and Edu Manzano/ with Jason Salcedo, Anna Larrucca, Emman Abeleda, Justin Simoy, Korinne Lirio/ Directed by Peque Gallaga and Lore Reyes


James DR said...

Simon, correction lang, it was Gloria Diaz and not Gloria Romero who won the best supporting actress.

Video 48 said...

Corrected! Thanks, James!


Blog Widget by LinkWithin