“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. Unless specified, all other materials are from the private collection of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Tuesday, August 24, 2010


December 29, 1986--- The 1986 Metro Manila Film Festival was considered the worst in the 12-year history of the annual 10-day festival of local movies. For the first time, it did not give out the traditional first and second best picture awards. Two other categories--- best story and best screenplay were not also given. "No one of the seven entries deserved these awards," according to Tingting Cojuangco, one of the jurors. NCV productions' Halimaw romped away 10 of the 12 awards--- Best Director (Mario O'Hara/ Banga Episode); Best Actor (Mario O'Hara/ Banga ep.); Best Actress (Liza Lorena/ Banga Ep.); Best Supporting Actress (Maritess Gutierrez/ Banga Ep.); Best Child Performer (Ian Kristoffer de Leon/ Banga Ep.); Best Musical Score (Jaime Fabregas); Best Production Design (Frank Rivera); Best Editing (Efren Jarlego); Best Sound (Rodel Capule) and Third Best Picture Award. Romy Vitug won the Best Cinematography Award for Celso Ad. Castillo's Payaso and Chris Ad Castillo, the director's son received the Best Supporting Actor Award for Augusto Buenaventura's Bagets Gang.

For more insights on the awards night, click image below.

"Halimaw: Komiks and Banga Episodes" (1986)- Stars Liza Lorena, Gina Pareno, Michael de Mesa, Mario O'Hara, Ruel Vernal, Maritess Gutierrez, Ronel Victor, Jaime Fabregas and Ian Kristoffer de Leon & Lotlot de leon/ Directed by Christopher de Leon and Mario O' Hara

"Captain Barbell" (1986)- Stars Edu Manzano, Herbert Bautista, Lea Salonga, Dennis Da Silva, Bing Loyzaga, Nova Villa, Ruel Vernal, Rez Cortez and Beth Bautista/ Directed by Leroy Salvador

"Payaso" (1986)- Stars German Moreno and All-Star Cast/ Directed by Celso Ad. Castillo

"Salamangkero: The Magician" (1986)- Stars Michael de Mesa, Gina Alajar, Liza Lorena, Armida Siguon-Reyna, Tanya Gomez, Dick Israel, Odette Khan, Ruben Rustia, Tom-Tom, Sunshine/ Directed by Tata Esteban

"Tuklaw" (1986)- Stars Charito Solis, Nadia Montenegro, Anjo Yllana and Richard Gomez/ with Janice Jurado, Zandro Zamora, Lucita Soriano, Jaime Fabregas, Robert Talabis/ Directed by Carlo J. Caparas

"Bangkay Mo Akong Hahakbangan" (1986)- Stars Dante Varona, Melissa Mendez, Paquito Diaz, Millicent Bautista, Aurora Sevilla, Fred Moro, Usman Hassim, Rocco Montalban and Joko Diaz/ Directed by Dante Varona

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Kung ako din naman ang naging judge...wala din akong mapipili.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin