“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. Unless specified, all other materials are from the private collection of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Friday, December 28, 2012


“One More Try” was named Best Picture during the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival Awards night held at the Meralco Theater in Ortigas, Pasig City on Thursday, December 27. The movie won a total of six awards, including the inaugural Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence and the Best Actor trophy for Dingdong Dantes.

Nora Aunor won the Best Actress for her role in “Thy Womb.”

“Thy Womb,” meanwhile, was also awarded the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award and the Best Director award for Brilliante Mendoza. Mendoza urged moviegoers to support his film, which stars Nora Aunor and Bembol Roco.

“Showing pa po kami. Sana po makatulong yung award. At sana wag po kayong mag-pull out,” he said during his award acceptance speech.

His statement comes after it was reported that several cinemas were already pulling out the film from their line-up due to its poor box office performance. As of the latest report, “Thy Womb” is in last place in terms of box office results among the eight MMFF entries this year.

Cesar Montano won as Best Supporting Actor for his role in the film “El Presidente” and the Best Supporting Actress went to Wilma Doesnt of “Sisterakas.”

The glittering rites was hosted by Kris Aquino and KC Concepcion.

Director Ruel Bayani accepting the Best Picture award for "One More Try." With him are Angel Locsin, Zanjoe Marudo and child star Miguel Vergara.

 Nora Aunor for Best Actress in "Thy Womb" 

Dingdong Dantes as Best Actor for "One More Try"

Brilliante Mendoza as Best Director for "Thy Womb"
(Photos above courtesy of Yahoo! OMG!)

Here’s the list of Winners of MMFF 2012


Best Picture: One More Try
2nd Best Picture: El Presidente
3rd Best Picture: Sisterakas
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Awardee: Thy Womb
Best Actress: Nora Aunor “Thy Womb”
Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes “One More Try” (2nd consecutive win)
Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesn’t “Sisterakas“
Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano “El Presidente“
Best Director: Brillante Mendoza “Thy Womb“
Best Child Performer: Miguel Vergara “One More Try“
Best Screenplay: Anna Karenina, Jay Gazmin “One more Try“
Best Float: El Presidente
Best Sound Engineering: Albert Michael Idioma “El Presidente“
Best Theme Song: Apl de Ap & Jamir Garcia “El Presidente”
Best Musical Sore: Jessie Lazatin “El Presidente”
Best Original Story: Henry Burgos “Thy Womb”
Best Production Design: Thy Womb
Best Editing: One More Try
Best Make-up: Warren Munar, Benny Batoctoy & Virgina Apolinario “El Presidente“
Best Visual Effects: Shake, Rattle and Roll 14
Best Cinematographer: Odyssey Flores “Thy Womb”
Youth Choice Award: El Presidente
Most Gender-Sensitive Award (Mainstream): Thy Womb
First FPJ Memorial Award: One More Try
Female Star of the Night: Nora Aunor
Male Star of the Night: Joseph Estrada
SMDC Female Celebrity of the Night: Bianca King
SMDC Male Celebrity of the Night: Zanjoe Marudo

Best Student’s Short Film Award: Pukpok (DLSU)
Most Gender-Sensitive Award Short Film: Maribela (FEU)
Special Jury Prize: “Tagad” (USC)


Best New Wave Full-Length Film: The Grave Bandits
New Wave Best Actress: Liza Dino “In Nomine Matris”
New Wave Best Actor: Allan Paule “Gayak”
New Wave Films Best Director: Tyrone Ancierto “The Grave Bandits”
New Wave Most Gender-Sensitive Award: In Nomine Matris
Special Jury Prize: Daniel Bautista from University of San Carlos
Special Jury Prize Award (New Wave Film Category): Quantum Films
Special Jury Prize Award (Full-Length Film): Ad Ignorantiam

"One More Try" (2012)
Star Cinema
Direction Ruel S. Bayani
Cast Angelica Panganiban, Dingdong Dantes, Zanjoe Marudo and Angel Locsin/ with Carmina Villarroel, Agot Isidro and Ms. Gina Pareno

"El Presidente (General Emilio Aguinaldo and the First Philippine Republic)" (2012)
Scenema Concept International
Direction by Mark Meily
Cast Nora Aunor, Christopher de Leon, Cesar Montano, Christine Reyes and Jeorge E.R. Ejercito (in the title role) plus an all- star cast

"Sisterakas" (2012)
Star Cinema/ Viva Films
Direction Wenn Deramas
Cast Vice Ganda, Kris Aquino and AiAi delas Alas/ with Kathryn Bernardo, Daniel Padilla, Xyriel Manabat, Tirso Cruz III, DJ Durano, Epi Quizon & Gloria Diaz

"Thy Womb" (2012)
Center Stage Productions
Direction Brillante Mendoza
Cast Nora Aunor, Lovi Poe, Mercedes Cabral and Bembol Roco


Kalabasa K. Kamote said...

Nora Aunor is a record-holder at the Metro Manila Film Festival having eight wins as Best Actress. She is also the first to win back-to-back Best Actress awards.

Anonymous said...

Tama. It happened twice - 1978-1979 and 1990-1991.

Nora Aunor also holds the record of being the only Best Performer winner for Atsay in 1978.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin