“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. Unless specified, all other materials are from the private collection of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Monday, May 23, 2011


"Ganito Kami Noon...Paano Kayo Ngayon?" (1976)

Actress Pilar Pilapil congratulates Direk Eddie Romero

L-R (Vic Silayan, Yvonne, Nora Aunor, Maya Valdez, Ruel Vernal)

Substance vs. Star:

At the end of the first year, the Manunuris selected 10 films released during the past 12 months as the best of the 1976 crop, and the first awards night was held.

The 1976 Gawad Urian was opened by Nestor Torre who stated in his speech that the Urian award was “unbuyable,” and did not respect the so-called “star” in its awards. As if to lend credibility to Torre’s claim, several choices of the Manunuris were in fact “unpopular.” Their selection of Vic Silayan as best actor for his role in Ligaw na Bulaklak, over Christopher de Leon (Ganito Kami Noon, Paano Kayo Ngayon?) “confused” the industry. Everyone felt sure that De Leon would bag the prize because he was a star, which Vic Silayan, though acknowledged -as a seasoned actor, was not. Futhermore, the nomination of Mona Lisa for principal rather than supporting actress, further emphasized the Manunuris’ maverick ways. It stressed the group’s convictions that it is the substance of a role that should determine a nomination, not one’s billing in movie-ads, or one’s status in the film industry.

The Manunuris further enhanced their image as “champions of the underdog” with the following selections: bomba star Yvonne, as best supporting actress (Ligaw na Bulaklak); stage actress Maya Valdez, as best supporting actress (Lunes, Martes. . .), and villain-type Ruel Vernal, as best supporting actor (lnsiang). The most significant choice, however, was Nora Aunor, who was voted best actress for her performance in "Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos" (directed by Mario O’Hara). The Manunuri can claim without blushing that the Urian made Nora Aunor and Nora Aunor made the Urian. Her winning emphasized the group’s complete disregard for stereotypes. Aunor’s image as “bakya” idol had typecast her as a non-actress, but this did not hinder the Manunuri’s collective judgment that she had the makings of a serious actress. With her triumph, the critics clarified their standard of performance and accidentally won over the obstinate movie scribes.

(Source: The Urian Anthology 1970-79)

List of Winners:

Best Picture- Ganito Kami Noon, Paano Kayo Ngayon

Best Director- Eddie Romero/ Ganito Kami Noon, Paano Kayo Ngayon

Best Actor- Vic Silayan/ Ligaw na Bulaklak

Best Actress- Nora Aunor/ Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos

Best Supporting Actor- Ruel Vernal/ Insiang

Best Supporting Actress- Maya Valdez/ Lunes, Martes, Miyerkules, …
and Yvonne/ Ligaw na Bulaklak
Best Screenplay- Eddie Romero & Roy Iglesias/ Ganito Kami Noon…

Best Cinematography- Ely Cruz and Rody Lacap/ Itim

Best Production Design- Peque Gallaga, Laida Lim-Perez/ Ganito Kami Noon…

Best Editing- Ike Jarlego, Jr/ Itim

Best Sound- Luis Reyes, Ramon Reyes, Sebastian Sayson/ Itim

Best Music- Max Jocson/ Itim

Outstanding Achievement- Manuel de Leon

"Insiang" (1976)

"Ligaw na Bulaklak" (1976)

"Itim" (1976)
"Lunes, Martes, Miyerkules, Huwebes, Biyernes, Sabado, Linggo" (1976)


法律-筆記 said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Anonymous said...

Hindi pa televised noon ang Urian Awards kaya exciting pa at credible. Ngayon, the past decade or more, it has been too commercialized. Also, it's not proper for Butch Francisco to tell the whole wide world that he's a Vilmanian considering that Vilma is the winningest (8 trophies). Kahit na sabihin nating ang mga Manunuri naman eh either Noranian or Vilmanian, hindi sila dapat vocal sa madla. Nawawalan sila ng credibility. Noon, base sa picture dito, all out ang support ng mga prominent people like Lamberto Avellana, Francisco Tatad, Rosa Rosal, Leopoldo Salcedo, atbp. At ang mga nominees (like Nora Aunor and Charo Santos in this pic) umaattend, manalo o matalo. Those were the days. Ngayon, imagine, pati sina Miriam Quiambao at Ariel Ureta (who were just OK in Kimmy Dora), atbp ay nano-nominate. Anong nangyari sa very strict criteria nila?


Blog Widget by LinkWithin